Archives

Civil War Primary Source Documents (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

From the New-York Historical Society, Civil War Primary Source Documents is an archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.

Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

Gateway to North America: The People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York. From the New-York Historical Society, Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York is an archive chronicling the people and organizations of New York City during the 19th century.

Newspapers.com by Ancestry (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

Our largest online newspaper archive with 19,900+ newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.

PA Photos & Documents (POWERLibrary)

Explore thousands of digitized documents and photographs from unique collections in libraries across Pennsylvania. You’ll be amazed by what you find! (Soon we will be adding unique to Ligonier Valley Library content - Stay tuned!)

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society is a unique archive of Orderly Books from between 1748 and 1817. It includes thousands of pages of primary source material providing valuable information about soldiers' lives.

Arts & Literature

Core Collections (EBSCO/H.W. Wilson - Ligonier Valley Library)

Used for book selection / collections and weeding of library material... This databases cover a wide variety of subject areas including art, education, engineering, humanities, social sciences and more. In addition, the Core Collections provide impartial, authoritative guides help librarians build and maintain well-rounded collections of the most highly recommended reference, nonfiction and fiction books.

Kanopy

A free streaming platform to watch movies on your TV, phone, tablet, or online. Just sign up for an account using your WLN library card to view movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Novelist K8 Plus

Need a list of books by topic or unit of study?  NoveList K8 Plus includes education and inspiration at your fingertips.Whether you use Accelerated Reader levels, Lexile levels, or both, NoveList K-8 Plus lets you search for books with your kids' favorite story elements, then limit by reading level so you can hand your young reader a just right book.

Novelist Plus

NoveList Plus is a database of book recommendations. Their expertise and passion for books and reading provides you with expert reviews and recommendations. 

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Business, Finance & Law

Candid - GuideStar, Foundation Directory Professional, Grants to Individuals

GuideStar

The most comprehensive source of nonprofit information.

  • Community members can easily find local nonprofits where they can donate, work, or volunteer
  • Connect those in need to resources they rely on, such as food banks or shelters
  • Access 2 million+ nonprofits

Foundation Directory Professional

Helps nonprofits find funding faster

  • Builds robust prospect lists from 242,000+ grantmakers
  • Know which funders are more likely to provide support
  • Connect with key decisopm makers through the LinkedIn integration
  • Find collaboration opportunities and join forces with other nonprofits

Grants to Individuals

Helps reduce student debt

  • Search for grantmakers who fund scholarships, fellowships, and student aid

**You must be logged on to a library computer or connected to the library wifi to access any of the Candid databases.**

Entrepreneurship (GALE - POWERLibrary)

Ideal for entrepreneurs, Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Consumer & Auto

Auto Repair Source (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

(EBSCO): Auto Repair Source contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; including drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins, recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance schedules.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

This reference database provides detailed yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly find the information they need.

Do It Yourself

Auto Repair Source (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

(EBSCO): Auto Repair Source contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; including drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins, recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance schedules.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

This reference database provides detailed yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly find the information they need.

Educational / School Library Resources

Brainfuse HelpNow

Need homework help? HelpNow is a complete tutoring system consisting of live tutors, collaboration spaces, and study tools. Students from elementary school through college can access live tutors from the library or on your mobile device with your library card. Online tutors are available seven days a week from 1:00 pm to 11:00 pm EST, except on major holidays. 

Novelist K8 Plus

Need a list of books by topic or unit of study?  NoveList K8 Plus includes education and inspiration at your fingertips.Whether you use Accelerated Reader levels, Lexile levels, or both, NoveList K-8 Plus lets you search for books with your kids' favorite story elements, then limit by reading level so you can hand your young reader a just right book.

ParentTV

ParentTV offers hundreds of on-demand videos to support the parenting and care of children from birth to teens. Feel more confident and connected with access to reliable advice on a wide range of topics from Australia and the world’s leading parenting and educational experts. You can now access reliable advice on a wide range of topics from leading parenting and educational experts in Australia and beyond, all in one place.

Genealogy & Biography

Ancestry Library Edition - In Library use only! (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

Ancestry Library - Search over 262,000,000 obituaries and links / research from public family trees, birth, marriage and death records, military records, tax, criminal, land and wills... plus much more!

Civil War Primary Source Documents (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

From the New-York Historical Society, Civil War Primary Source Documents is an archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.

Fold3 by Ancestry (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

Discover your family's military past through original military records that include stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military. Many of the records come from the U.S. National Archives. The National Archives of the U.K. and other international records.

HeritageQuest - Online (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

HeritageQuest Online at the Library - This database is designed for genealogy research... It includes the following: city directories, census map guides, census rolls, mortality schedules, agricultural and industrial schedules and US Freedman bank records. As well as Canadian census records, searching in books, revolutionary war records, US obituaries and much more!

Newspapers.com by Ancestry (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

Our largest online newspaper archive with 19,900+ newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society is a unique archive of Orderly Books from between 1748 and 1817. It includes thousands of pages of primary source material providing valuable information about soldiers' lives.

Health & Wellness

Health & Wellness (GALE - POWERLibrary)

Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

ParentTV

ParentTV offers hundreds of on-demand videos to support the parenting and care of children from birth to teens. Feel more confident and connected with access to reliable advice on a wide range of topics from Australia and the world’s leading parenting and educational experts. You can now access reliable advice on a wide range of topics from leading parenting and educational experts in Australia and beyond, all in one place.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Jobs & Careers

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Ligonier & Pennsylvania / Photos & Documents

Local, Commonwealth & Federal Government Links / Documents

Links to websites & documents:

  • Local
  • Commonwealth
  • Federal

Government Information

PA Photos & Documents (POWERLibrary)

Explore thousands of digitized documents and photographs from unique collections in libraries across Pennsylvania. You’ll be amazed by what you find! (Soon we will be adding unique to Ligonier Valley Library content - Stay tuned!)

Newspapers and Magazines

AP Newsroom (AP - POWERLibrary)

This database captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text. AP Newsroom is a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world.

Newspapers.com by Ancestry (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

Our largest online newspaper archive with 19,900+ newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Reference & Research

Academic Search Main Edition (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

This resource provides full-text scholarly content for major college courses. Designed specifically for academic research, this database provides full-text and peer-reviewed journals essential for undergraduate and graduate studies.

 

AP Newsroom (AP - POWERLibrary)

This database captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text. AP Newsroom is a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world.

Auto Repair Source (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

(EBSCO): Auto Repair Source contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; including drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins, recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance schedules.

Brainfuse HelpNow

Need homework help? HelpNow is a complete tutoring system consisting of live tutors, collaboration spaces, and study tools. Students from elementary school through college can access live tutors from the library or on your mobile device with your library card. Online tutors are available seven days a week from 1:00 pm to 11:00 pm EST, except on major holidays. 

Civil War Primary Source Documents (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

From the New-York Historical Society, Civil War Primary Source Documents is an archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.

Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

Gateway to North America: The People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York. From the New-York Historical Society, Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York is an archive chronicling the people and organizations of New York City during the 19th century.

Newspapers.com by Ancestry (ProQuest - Ligonier Valley Library)

Our largest online newspaper archive with 19,900+ newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.

ParentTV

ParentTV offers hundreds of on-demand videos to support the parenting and care of children from birth to teens. Feel more confident and connected with access to reliable advice on a wide range of topics from Australia and the world’s leading parenting and educational experts. You can now access reliable advice on a wide range of topics from leading parenting and educational experts in Australia and beyond, all in one place.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society (EBSCO - Ligonier Valley Library)

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society is a unique archive of Orderly Books from between 1748 and 1817. It includes thousands of pages of primary source material providing valuable information about soldiers' lives.

Science Reference Center (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

This reference database provides detailed yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly find the information they need.

Science & Technology

Auto Repair Source (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

(EBSCO): Auto Repair Source contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; including drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins, recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance schedules.

POWERLibrary - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library.

Science Reference Center (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (EBSCO - POWERLibrary)

This reference database provides detailed yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly find the information they need.